Thursday Links: I Write For The Internet!

Hello everyone! So I’ve been working my butt off to not miss Friday posts around here, but last Friday fell through the cracks. I had something in the works, and then it just didn’t happen on Friday. And then it didn’t happen on Saturday. And then it didn’t happen on Sunday. By Monday it felt more like “better luck next time…” and less like “crap finish the thing!” And I’m sorry. But I have some reasons! And the reasons are that I’ve been working a lot.

12742417_10205396398977333_5744597620993523018_n

I mostly do a really good job of not letting the writing I do for other places on the internet interfere with the writing that I do here. It’s a value to me. But on those days when the baby won’t stop screaming and I’m already behind and everything is going to hell, sometimes I have to make tough decisions. When it’s 3pm and I know for a fact that half of my to-do list isn’t going to get done, I have to start prioritizing things. Sometimes that means I have to prioritize the work that pays the rent. I hate that, but the only way to fix it is to pay me for the work I’m doing here or dismantle capitalism. I am open to either/both.

Anyways, here’s what I’ve been up to.

Over at Romper, I was talking more about the parental labor and equality and why it’s important to me. It was a pretty fun piece to write, because I actually realized in process that what I assumed my reasons are is not exactly what my reasons actually are. That is, sure, I don’t want to get saddled with all of the parenting work in part because it’s not fair for me, but also because a more equitable parenting relationship is better for my wife and my kid. Then, I did maybe the weirdest thing I’ve ever done, and cooked with breastmilk and then wrote about it.

For Ravishly, I took a deep dive into identity issues, and attempted to parse out why I consider myself more of a housewife than a stay at home mom. I also got into an issue I’ve been trying to write about for years, which is the connection there is (for me) between my feminism and my love of feral cats. I’m incredibly grateful to have had a platform to dig into an issue that is so near and dear to my heart!

And then, um, I somehow got an article into The Washington Post? It wasn’t even about parenting or feminism or being a queer either! It’s basically a love letter to a kitchen, specifically the tiniest most “horrible” kitchen I’ve ever had the pleasure of cooking in.

And really, that’s just the stuff that’s gone live recently, there’s more work happening that’s still behind the scenes. I love writing for a living, but it is a lot of work, and not to put too fine a point on it, but all of that stuff listed above? Yeah, it still isn’t actually enough to live off of. So I continue to work around my wife’s work schedule and my baby’s nap schedule. And we’re still just scraping by. If you would like to alleviate any of that, free up more time for me to work on the blog, and you are able, now would be a really great time to support Post Nuclear Era.

And now I have to go, my beautiful child is trying to figure out how to climb over the baby gate to follow our cats into the spare bedroom.

Leave a Comment

